Dennis Muir Scholarship

Mission: To financially support dental hygiene students who exhibit scholarship, leadership, compassion, ethical standards and community service.

The Dennis Muir Scholarship Award began in 1990 in honor of Dennis Muir, a longtime supporter of preventive oral health care and community volunteerism.  During his long working career with Proctor and Gamble and in his retirement Dennis continues to be involved in community service.

To be eligible for the Dennis Muir Scholarship, the applicant must be an Oregon resident, a first year dental hygiene student attending an Oregon program and have at least a 3.0 GPA at the completion of the first term of dental hygiene.

The criteria for choosing the scholarship winner are scholarship, leadership, community activity, compassion, communication skills, and ethical standards.  One Scholarship is presented each year at the ODHA Annual Meeting. The top applicant from each school not receiving the Dennis Muir Scholarship will be presented a non-monetary Award of Excellence Certificate.  

Click here to view the Dennis Muir Scholarship Application Packet

Donations come from ODHA, local hygienists and individuals.  Donations to support this Scholarship are always welcome and can be sent to:  

Dennis Muir Scholarship Award
10631 SW 64th Dr.
Portland, Or 97219   

dennis muir license mat image

The scholarship is also partially funded by the sale of license mats (pictured above).

Order Form


Scholarship Award Winners:

2016 - Hannah Wieber, Oregon tech Dental Hygiene at ODS College of Dental Sciences   
2015 - Rachel Broderick, Pacific University
2014 - Crystal Miller, Portland Community College
2013 - Franklin Nguyen, Pacific University
2012- Ann Archer, Pacific University
2011- Amanda Bollinger, Pacific University
2010 - Kyle Johnstone, Pacific University
2009 - Kate Currans, ODS School of Dental Sciences/OIT
2008 - Emanuela Crisan, Mt Hood HCC
2007 - Pema Sherpa, Portland Community College
2006 - Dennine Walker - Mt Hood CC
2005 - Ronna Murillo - Portland Community College
2004 - Kirsten Kleinsmith - Mt. Hood Community College
2003 - Kimberly Dayton - Lane Community College
2002 - Wei Tain - Mt. Hood Community College
2001 - Teresa Voreis - Lane Community College
2000 - Cami Vader - Portland Community College
1999 - Loretta Lee - Lane Community College
1998 - Tara Eng - Oregon Health Sciences University
1997 - Laura Buckley - Oregon Health Sciences University
1996 - Connie Sheflin - Portland Community College
1995 - Nga (Kitty) Le - Portland Community College
1994 - Laureen Greenhalgh - Portland Community College
1993 - Estelle Crabb - Portland Community College
1992 - Carol Shuck - Portland Community College
1991 - Coletta Beckner - Portland Community College
1990 - Robin Woods - Lane Community College

For more information, contact Sue Sanzi-Schaedel by email at


Dennis Muir Templates:

CDA, EFDA-Carington



DDS-ODA 2013

Dentist_WD 2013




EFDA-Clackamas CC










RDH-OIT new 2014